Relationship Stuff

Interracial Relationships

So for today’s post I want to talk about interracial dating/relationships. I’ll get straight to the point and say that I am in an interracial relationship; I am Hmong and my boyfriend is Portuguese. My parents are very traditional and do not support interracial relationships. I know this because when I first started talking to my boyfriend my mom told me to stop talking to him because (long story short) I would live a poor and sad life with him due to our differences. I would usually listen to my parents, however my boyfriend is someone very special and important to me so I decided to make it seem like I was not talking to my boyfriend anymore to get my parents off my back. How did I do this, you may wonder? Well, we decided to just call each other through Facebook call, so thank you to Facebook! And it’s been working greatly because my mom doesn’t question me anymore since our calls don’t get logged anymore on the bill.

I am saddened but understand that my parents don’t support my (or anyone’s) interracial relationship. They want to keep the Hmong culture and traditions alive in this great big world we call the United States of America. They fear losing the language and the religion and the traditions to the Western ideals and culture. Nonetheless, I can’t help but love my boyfriend and our differences. Don’t get me wrong, I love my Hmong people, too (to an extent); my ex was Hmong as well. However, I ended the relationship because it just wasn’t working out. I implicitly explain a little of that in my other post:Β I Made My Decision.

I think it’s important that others know it’s ok to date outside of your own race. There’s nothing wrong with experiencing something new and different because it may turn out to be the best thing in your life. Sometimes people won’t understand, but you do you, because it is your life and your happiness, not anyone else’s.

❀

Other AwesomeΒ Reads

Interracial Relationships

Interracial loveπŸ‘§πŸ»πŸ’–πŸ‘¦πŸΎ

FOR ALL THE COUPLES WHO CANNOT PUBLICLY CELEBRATE TODAY.

14 thoughts on “Interracial Relationships

  1. It’s sad that your parents don’t support your relationship. I respect the fact that they want to get the Hmong culture alive, but they shouldn’t look down on you just because you are in an interracial relationship. I’m glad you’re still staying strong in your relationship. Thanks for suggesting my blog post for others to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m upset too, but it is what it is. I can’t change them, and they can’t change me, especially in regard to who I love. Thanks for the comment and the support, and I am always on the lookout for other bloggers to repost their stories and help spread a meaningful message. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really hope that when the time comes and your family gets to know your boyfriend personally they can accept your decision.
    In my case, although my family can’t oppose to my decisions I do respect their viewpoint about just long distance relationships in general, but in the end it is I who makes the final decision. Fortunately the difference of nationality, races, and language is not a problem for us.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Douachee πŸ™‚
    I” go straight to the point- like you πŸ™‚
    I’m in interracial relationship 10 years, 7 years married. We both respect and maintain our own identities- we live in interracial (Asian/European), multicultural (Indian, Polish, British), multilingual (Polish, Hindi, English) and multireligious (Catholicism/Sikhism) family πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Our child is brought up as trilingual interfaith kid πŸ™‚ Life is beautiful in interracial, multicultural family πŸ™‚ You blend together and also maintain your own identity.
    I hope you parents could understand you don’t have to lose your own customs, traditions, language and religion. Everything is possible with a willing heart πŸ™‚ I mean- two hearts πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That sounds so wonderful! I also believe that it is possible to blend and still maintain your identity. I also hope one day my parents will understand 😊 and yes, everything is possible with two hearts 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Your parents are the way they are for a reason, take the time and have an adult conversation with them, ask them why they disapprove? Eventually they will realize if they don’t accept him they will lose you.

    Like

    1. Yea I am thinking of letting them know soon as I hope to be with him after I finish college in a year. And as you said, if they are not willing to accept him then they will lose me. Thank you for commenting and giving advice πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

